Photo of the Week – Student to Trademark Owner

Brandon Adams – Arctic Stick Owner

Below is a letter the AgEI office received from Brandon Adams, a recent ISU graduate and past student in Kevin Kimle’s Econ 334: Agricultural Entrepreneurship course.  Adams’ was a College of Business student who had heard about the student business ScoutPro, and was interested in what the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences was doing.  Adams’ registered for the course the final semester of his senior year and through the course developed his business concept- the Arctic Stick.

The Arctic Stick was inspired through a business venture owned by Adams’ and his father -“Adams’ Ice Service”, located in Garnavillo, IA.  The company distributes packaged ice to retail outlets, with major consumption being during the summer months.  Adams’ recognized an opportunity when considering the personal beverage market.  The average consumer purchases 3-5 bottled beverages per week, and in most cases, their bottled beverages are warm before fully consumed.  The Arctic Stick, a cylinder tube filled with frozen water, fits in any bottled beverage and keeps the beverage colder longer.  His invention provides the ability to flavor drinks as well.

An in-class assignment required Adams’ to interview a successful entrepreneur, and through that assignment Adams’ met “Cactus” Jack Barringer, a successful entrepreneur, inventor, and salesman extraordinaire.  Barringer’s advice in that interview helped Adams’ move his business forward and has created a business partnership with Barringer as well.

Adams’ is preparing to launch the product nationally soon.  Read his letter below to learn more about his recent progress!

 

 Dear Mr. Kimle,

 I hope all is well with you and the Agricultural Entrepreneurship Program.  I’m sure you are very busy now that school has started again. 

 Things have been so busy for me, that I haven’t been able to give you an update on the progress of my business venture, Arctic Stick.  So much has happened in the last 2 months.  When I started this project in your class last January, I never would’ve imagined I would make it to where I am today.  Here’s a quick update of my progress. 

This July, I became the trademark owner of the term “Arctic Stick” and also obtained a provisional patent for the product. 

On August 1st, I presented the Arctic Stick concept to five successful business entrepreneurs.  In addition, my presentation was filmed and is now being edited as part of a pilot episode for a potential new TV show.  By January I will hear back regarding if the show was picked up by a TV network.  If a network picks up the show, I will be filmed again for their nationwide audience. 

 One of the five panelists for the show was Noah McNeely, CEO of Sling Shot Products, a product development group- www.slingshotpdg.com.  Mr. McNeely liked my product and gave me feedback.  We talked over dinner and I ended up asking him if he would be willing to take on my product and help me as I take the product to market.  He said he would think it over, and one week later he agreed to become my partner.  On August 23rd we signed a contract and formed a partnership.  When I got off the phone with him that day I was shaking and my adrenaline was high.  This deal is a very big step in the Arctic Stick progress.  In two weeks I will be driving down to Lawrenceville, GA to see the company headquarters and meet with the team which will be helping me make the Arctic Stick dream a reality. 

 If you want a little information about the product you can go to my website: www.arcticstick.com , or www.buyarcticstick.com .  Or just simply Google the word Arctic Stick and you will see 4-5 different things that have to do with the Arctic Stick.

 I can’t emphasize enough how thankful I am for the information I learned through taking your class!  You have a great program that can seriously have an impact on student’s lives.  It has really impacted mine.  If this product makes me millions or simply sets me back $25,000, I will still be ahead in my mind.  The experiences I have had and the people I have met will only help me in my future entrepreneurial endeavors.  If I can ever give back to the program and help you in anyway, please let me know. I hope to be in Ames in the next month and will plan to stop by the office.  Thanks for everything Kevin.

 Sincerely,

 Brandon Adams

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.